January Book Review

“Maybe You Should Talk to Someone” by Lori Gottlieb

Leeann Pennington M.ed LPC
3 min readJan 29, 2024

Every month, I will choose a mental health/self-help book to read and review. I’ll share the book title at the beginning of the month and will post the review at the end.

I chose “Maybe You Should Talk to Someone” as my first book of the year because so many new clients have been coming to counseling for the first time after stumbling upon Lori Gottlieb’s book.

I assumed by the title that it was a basic outline of what to expect from therapy and what type of person should most consider its benefits.

With that assumption in mind, I believed it would be an excellent resource for many, but I didn’t feel drawn to read it since, as a therapist myself, I already had a high opinion of therapy and counseling.

However, getting through the first chapter showed me there was plenty to glean from this book, even as a well-versed clinician.

The author, Lori, used exceptional eloquence to weave her story into an easy-to-digest description of counseling and its benefits. She shared how her life’s path was one of trials and challenges that eventually led her to become a therapist late in her 30s.

She describes several other job choices she made before she decided to study mental health and…

--

--

Leeann Pennington M.ed LPC

Therapist. Business owner. Wife. Mother. Coffee Connoisseur. Lover of all things furry..